top of page

DRINK YOURSELF TO BETTER HEALTH


One of the most popular areas of confusion in the health and fitness area, isn’t which diet to follow, or the best butt exercises; It’s much less talked about amongst professionals, more confusing, and often more frustrating to us humans. This age-old question on everyone’s mind after they begin a weight loss program:




How much water should I be drinking?”


Unfortunately, if the average person pursues the lofty quest to finding a definite answer to this timeless question… when asked, I will first respond with:


What is your goal?



You see, this answer is quite complicated. I am afraid what you will find is 1,525,045 articles on why water is important, and perhaps only one article giving you a direct answer. There are a number of factors which go into determining the “right” amount of water to drink based on your sex, age, body composition, where you live, lifestyle habits and most importantly… what is your goal? It would also be remiss of me, not to mention a main reason published authorities decline to give such guidance, is because of the legal liabilities they would undoubtedly find themselves in if they did give you an answer and someone got hurt.


The closest answer you will find is a by the National Academy, Institute of Medicine, Food and Nutrition Board, Panel on Dietary Reference Intakes for Electrolytes and Water

2004 report , which suggests the daily “Total water intake” at the reference level of 3.7 liters for adult men (125 ounces) and 2.7 liters (92 ounces) for adult women per day to cover the expected needs of healthy, sedentary people in temperate climates.


According to reports by the CDC in 2005-2010, U.S. youth drank an average of 15 ounces of water and in 2011-2014, U.S. adults drank an average of 39 ounces of water on a given day. Given the serious health risks posed as a result of not drinking enough water, America has a serious problem!


So why you might ask, if water is so important to our health, do over 70% of American fail to reach even close to their water goals? According to a 2020 poll done by the NY post, most American said they were “too busy” to drink water. After years of coaching, surmise to say, what most people actually mean is that they were never taught how to incorporate drinking more water into their daily lifestyle. As you can see from The First 28, the second step we focus on to improving your health is drinking more water.


In order to do so, understanding that we as humans can be both complicated and simple; I suggest against trying to create a rigid math equation or “one size fits most” type approach to drinking more water. But rather, let us instead look at the various types of people, their daily routine and demands in an effort to help you find some synergies between that of each profile type and your own schedule. As you read through the success stories, take note of the tools they use, how they breakup their day with reasonable, manageable amounts of water to consume at each interval, visual guide, and also to incorporate beverages that they enjoy:


KEVIN,

Hi, my name is Kevin. I’m a doctor who works in higher education managing a large staff, board members, and community relations. I spend most of my day in meetings with my team and teachers, often without any specific breaks. Aside from my 40-minute one way commute to work each day, I have a mentally rigorously schedule. Here is how I manage to get in my personal goal of 100+ ounces of water each day:


1. I put a 16 oz water bottle by my bed; and I drink right when I wake up

2. I take a 33-ounce water bottle in the car and drink it during my morning commute.

3. During lunch I drink another 16 ounces of water

4. I take the same 33-ounce water bottle and fill it up at work, drinking it in the car during my commute home.

5. To finish off my day I drink another 16 oz at dinner time


Guess what… that’s your 100 ounces right there!





REBECCA (works from home)

Hello! Hello! My name is Rebecca. I am an executive for one of the world’s largest companies and I work from home. I spend most of my days on zoom, in meetings and work long hours. I start my morning with a long walk by the ocean, and then spend the rest of the in what feels like I am chained to my desk. Drinking water was always a struggle for me because I am sitting at my desk, busy with work, and I would often forget to drink water. Here is how I manage to get in my daily hydration needs each day. My personal goal is 100 oz of water each day…..


1. I put a 16 oz water bottle by my bed, and I drink it right when I wake up

2. I use another 16 ounces in my morning protein smoothie and then head out for my morning walk

3. I take a 33-ounce water bottle with me on my hour long walk and stay mindful in finishing it before I get home.

4. During lunch I drink a 16-ounce bottle of Pierre sparking water which I enjoy with a lemon slice

5. After lunch I am focused with work, so I purchased on line a smart bottle which lights up and reminds me to drink . Ideally, I would like to finish drinking all my water by 7pm so I don’t have to get up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom. I love a little taste of sweet in the evenings, so I will take my 16-ounce shaker bottle, ice and use a scoop of my favorite flavored branch chain amino acids to finish off my goal for the day!


Angel:

Tidings and salutations, my name is Angel, and I am a registered Nurse and in school continuing my education as a part time student. I work the night shift in the hospital emergency room. My schedule changes just about each week, but I am guaranteed 4 days of work each week with 3 rotating days off. I have a 35-minute commute to the hospital, and workout 5 days a week. I get 30 minutes to eat lunch, and 2, 15-minute breaks. I am not allowed to drink water on the floor with patients but being in health care and with Christina as my coach I know firsthand the health risks of not getting in enough water. Here is how I manage to get in more water each day. My personal goal is 123 oz of water each day.


1. Working night shifts, my day doesn’t start until most people are on their way home from work. So, I put a 16 oz water bottle by my bed; drink right when you wake up. If I don’t start with this first bottle, mentally I can get distracted with trying to rush in everything I need to do before I need to head out of the door for my shift.

2. I then use my 33 oz water bottle for my pre-workout shake before I head to the gym and drink it on my way there which takes me 20 minutes.

3. During my lift in the gym, I will fill my 33-ounce water bottle again and make sure I finish it before I leave.

4. I will fill my 33-ounce bottle again before leaving the gym on my way to the hospital which is another 40-minute drive.

5. Because every day in an emergency room is different, I don’t have the ability to focus on getting in my water. So, when I get to the hospital, I will fill my 33-ounce water bottle one last time and sip it between breaks, and finally the rest on my commute home.




Naz

Well, hello there, my name is Naz and I’m a Producer, Television Host, and Founder of Heart Broken Anonymous™. Juggling each of these roles means I have a very busy life and demanding schedule. Each day is exciting, and dynamic, but I do make time to work out with a trainer 3 days a week. I don’t have a set routine for the most part. I am often on the go, on set, on camera, or in meetings. Because I understand the importance of getting in enough water each day for my skin, complexion, and my overall health, here is how I manage my daily 100-ounce water intake goal:

1. Right when I wake up, I use my 16 oz water bottle each morning to make myself a protein shake and coffee.

2. I always have with me a 33 oz water bottle, which I bring to meetings and on the go to sip on before lunch.

3. I love sparkling water! So, during lunch, either on my own or on the go I love to enjoy a bottle Topo Chico Mineral Water, which is another 16-24 ounces.

4. After lunch, I find myself getting busy with wrapping up work and trying the maintain an active social life. To make sure I hit my final goal, I’m sure to fill the same 33 oz water bottle I used in the morning, one more time and I try to finish drinking it before and with my last meal of the day!

Before I know it… I’ve easily hit my goal of 100 ounces!



Brian

Greetings from high above! My name is Brian, I am Pilot, an Ironman, and I love my water ice cold. Twice a month I fly the long stretch across the Ocean to Singapore with is over a 20-hour flight. Often with time changes, hotels, and picking up domestic flights where I can in between, my life is exciting, but no one day is the same. The key to my success in achieving my water goals is through a 40-ounce Hydro flask containerwhich I never leave home without. Whenever, wherever I wake up in the world, my goal is to fill my Hydro, and make sure I drink at least 3 each day before I go to sleep.



Jenny

Hi! My name is Jenny, and I am an executive assistant for 7 coaches. Each day is different in my world but does have some consistency. Did I mention I hate drinking water? I start my mornings early by walking my dog, and then split my time either at my desk or in the car running errands. I try to workout 3 days a week and, did I mention I love carbonated water. Here is how I manage to get in more water each day. My personal goal is 100 oz.


1. I don’t like the taste of plastic, and in an effort to be environmentally conscience, I own a 16 ounce and 33-ounce glass water bottles. I keep my 16 ounce bottle right by my bed, and drink it right when you wake up

2. I take my favorite lemon essence LaCroix with me to the gym for my morning workout and my goal is to finish it by the time I am finished.

3. I take a 33-ounce water bottle with me in the car and drink it during my morning errands.

4. During lunch drink I enjoy another one of my favorite LaCroix flavored cans of water

5. For dinner I enjoy another one of my favorite LaCroix flavored cans of water

6. Finally, I finish off my evenings with an 8-once mug of chamomile sleepy time tea before bed


Before I know it… that’s over my 100 ounces right there!





Aaron Marc

Hi! My name is Marc, and I am an Associate Director at pharmaceutical company managing several large programs and employees. Each day I am in face-to-face meetings with stakeholders in my company or networking throughout the day with my peers. Running from meeting after meeting makes it very difficult to keep track of my water intake. I needed an easy solution to track my water to ensure I drank at least 96 oz during my workday to guarantee i have over 100 oz per day.


1. I start my day with a Venti cup of black coffee (20 ounces)

2. I am a visual person, so I bought a 48 oz see-through plastic, PBA free container, and carry it with me from meeting to meeting in my bag.

3. Before lunch, I will ensure that I have completed the first 48 oz bottle before heading out to our cafeteria we have on campus.

4. I bring my water bottle with me, and before I begin the walk back across campus to my office, I fill it back up.

5. Prior to leaving the office for the day to head home I top off the remaining 48 oz. and sip it on my 25 minute commute home.



As you can see from each one of these client profiles, the first key to success starts with your equipment, an honest assessment of how you can make drinking more water enjoyable, and then looking at your day to find reasonable breaks. Whether it’s a glass, a smart bottle, your favorite drink flavoring to add, or adding bubbles to your life, getting in more water is not only possible, its imperative to your health and your goals of feeling and looking your best!











8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page